Guyana flag

Guyana Overview

Guyana is located in northeastern South America, and borders Brazil, Suriname and Venezuela. Suriname claims areas in eastern Guyana and Venezuela in areas in the west. However, Guyana’s contacts with Brazil are good. Guyana is an Indian word that means “land of waters”, which is true as Guyana is one of the world’s ten most water-rich countries according to the water index.

Capital: Georgetown
Biggest city: Georgetown
State: cooperative republic
Language: English
Religion: Christianity, Hinduism
Surface: 214 970 km²
Population: 739 900 (2013)
Population density: 3 residents per km²
Life expectancy: 66 years
Illiteracy: 1%
Currency: Guyanese dollar (GYD)
1 dollar = 0.04 kr
GDP per capita: $ 7,000 (2010)
Time difference: -5 hours
Electricity: 110 V AC, 60Hz
National Day: February 23rd
Country area code: 592
2-Letter country abbreviation: GY (See more abbreviations on Abbreviationfinder)
Business: industry 44%, agriculture 34%, service sector 22%
Climate: tropical with two rainy seasons (May to mid-August, mid-November to mid-January)

Guyana flag

Guyana has no well-defined coastline or sandy beaches. Closer to the sea, the terrain gradually loses altitude until it consists of swamp areas and swamps. Between the plant border and the sea there is an area of ​​mud, ground and sandbanks. These mud areas extend almost 25 kilometers from New Amsterdam. The sandbanks and the base are an obstacle to ship transport and the boats must partially unload if they want to reach the ports of Georgetown and New Amsterdam.

Guyana has the largest biodiversity among CARICOM countries and has signed an agreement on cooperation in the Amazon region. The country is one of the five most densely populated areas in the world and deforestation in the country is non-existent. In August 1994, the country ratified the Convention on Biological Diversity as a result of the United Nations Conference on Environment and Development in June 1992. In its national strategy, Guyana sees biodiversity as important for agriculture, genetic, social, economic, scientific and aesthetic goals.

Guyana’s animal population is of great diversity. Thanks to huge areas of pristine rainforest, there is a rich wildlife with everything from jaguars, hummingbirds, parrots and piranhas to reptiles. The rainforest Iwokrama has a size of about 375,000 hectares. Compared to forests of the same size, the area has the world’s largest collection of fish species, including the world’s largest freshwater fish, arapaima. In Iwokrama there are about 200 species of mammals, 500 species of birds, 420 species of fish and 150 different amphibians and reptiles. In the watercourses of northern Rupununi, there are over 400 different fish species and endangered species such as black caiman, giant otter, harpy and giant turtles.

The country also received some international attention when Jim Jones, leader of the People’s Temple sect, founded Jonestown in Guyana. A socialist society that became home to the members of the sect. Both Jim Jones and all his 913 companions committed a collective suicide on November 18, 1978, most by drinking a cyanide-laden drink. Those who refused were shot or strangled.


Electricity and electrical outlets in Guyana

Voltage: 240 V

Frequency: 60 Hz

Type of plug: A, B, D, G

Need an adapter: Yes, Swedes need an adapter.


Weather in Georgetown

Climate Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Christmas Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature °C 27 27 27 27 27 28 28 28 28 28 28 27
Day °C 29 29 29 30 29 29 30 30 31 31 30 29
Night °C 24 24 24 24 24 24 24 24 24 24 24 24
Rain (mm) 185 89 111 141 286 328 268 201 98 107 186 262
Soltim / day 6 6 7 7 7 7 7 8 9 8 8 6

Guyana 2


According to Countryaah, Georgetown is the capital of Guyana in northern South America. The city has 35,000 residents (2002). Half of the residents are of Indian descent. Georgetown is the country’s administrative and commercial center. Agricultural products such as sugar and rice as well as bauxite, gold and diamonds from the interior of Guyana are shipped across the port.

Georgetown was founded under the name Stabroek by Dutch settlers, and was renamed Georgetown in 1812 by the British troops who occupied the colony during the Napoleonic Wars. In 1842, Georgetown received city privileges.